Our Fire Academy will allow you to obtain a Texas Commission on Fire Protection Basic Structural Firefighter certification. Texas is an IFSAC state which means a Basic Structural Firefighter Certification received by the Texas Commission on Fire Protection is eligible to be transferred to IFSAC seals. To do so, after completion of the academy and receiving your TCFP certification, you must then apply for your IFSAC seals with the Texas Commission of Fire Protection by submitting a completed application and applicable fees. Once you have obtained your IFSAC seals they can be transferred to your Country. Please check your Country's guidelines to ensure transferability.

parallax background

To become a TCFP certified firefighter in the state of Texas a person must:

• Complete a Texas Commission on Fire Protection approved basic structural fire suppression program. (our online program meets this requirement)
• Pass the commission examinations (these will be taken at the end of the 14 day skills session)
• Meet the medical training certification requirements, otherwise see *
• Pass the state background check**

All commission requirements can be found on their website: www.tcfp.texas.gov/.
small Fire Training Academy logo

Online Basic Fire Academy Tuition and Fees

Payment must be made by credit card (in U.S.dollars).

The following items are included in the tuition rates below:


*Now offering our Simple Payment Plan option.




*Payment Plan Options Now Available. See details at registration.

parallax background

Items not included in tuition that students must provide to attend boot camp:

• NFPA compliant PPE (instructions for renting PPE will be provided prior to boot camp)

• BLACK Leather Safety Station Uniform boots
• NAVY BLUE Uniform pants and uniform belt
• Personal items needed (ie., shower, grooming, and any other personal care items needed)
• Any legally prescribed medication required or over the counter medication required
• Airline Tickets (if applicable)


* From: Texas Administrative Code, Title 37, Part 13, Chapt 423, SubChap A, Rule 423.1:
(a) Fire protection personnel who are appointed to structure fire protection duties must be certified by the commission within one year from the date of their appointment.
(b) Prior to being appointed to structure fire protection duties, personnel must:
(1) complete a commission approved basic structure fire protection program; and
(2) successfully pass the commission examination as required by §423.3 of this title (relating to Minimum Standards for Basic Structure Fire Protection Personnel Certification); and
(3) successfully complete a commission recognized emergency medical training program. The commission recognizes the following emergency medical training:
(A) Department of State Health Services Emergency Medical Service Personnel certification training;
(B) an American Red Cross Emergency Response course, including the optional lessons and enrichment sections;
(C) an American Safety and Health Institute First Responder course;
(D) National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians certification; or
(E) medical training deemed equivalent by the commission.

**The Texas Commission on Fire Protection’s Rules and Regulations governs the criteria for state certification of a firefighter. There are circumstances under which the TCFP may DENY certification to an individual who has been convicted of criminal offenses. If you have been convicted of any felony offense or any misdemeanor class “B” or above, it is your responsibility to determine whether or not the TCFP will issue you a certification. The most effective way to do this is by submitting to TCFP an Application for Early Review of Certification, which is available at the following URL: www.tcfp.texas.gov/forms/TCFP-012.pdf.